In the glass

  1. Appearance

    Bright golden amber with good clarity and a persistent off-white head.

  2. Nose

    Peach leads a straightforward stone-fruit aroma, with light apricot alongside it. Lemon citrus gives the nose a crisp edge.

  3. Palate

    Crisp citrus and stone fruit open the sip, backed by clean malt and pleasantly firm hop bitterness. Fuller-bodied than many nonalcoholic IPAs, it feels complete without becoming heavy. There is no wort-like sweetness to leave the palate feeling unfinished.

  4. Finish

    Dry and clean, with moderate bitterness. Malt and citrus linger well after the sip, giving the close more persistence than the opening alone suggests.

Structure

  • Moderate bitterness

The beer

Good Liar’s strength is its balance. Citrus and stone fruit give this American IPA a clear hop character, but the fruit does not crowd out the clean malt or firm bitterness. It feels complete without becoming heavy or sweet. The result is a convincing, straightforward IPA whose body and bitter edge matter as much as its aroma.

The beer pours bright golden amber, with good clarity and a persistent off-white head. Peach leads the nose, with light apricot and lemon alongside it. Those notes introduce a palate that opens on crisp citrus and stone fruit, then gives the malt room to support them. The body is fuller than many nonalcoholic IPAs, and the bitterness has enough firmness to hold that weight. There is no wort-like sweetness making the middle feel unfinished. Fruit, malt and hops each have a place, and none takes over the glass.

The finish carries that balance forward. Dry and clean, it leaves moderate bitterness with malt and citrus lingering well after the sip. That persistence makes the beer feel settled rather than cut short. Good Liar does not need an exaggerated fruit profile to make its case: the interest lies in how the clean malt, hop character and dry close work together. It is an easy beer to return to, with enough body and bite to keep the next sip satisfying.

The bottle

Production Dealcoholized

Evidence Producer documented

Production type describes how it is made, not how it tastes. What this classification means.

Method Undeclared

Research notes

Good Liar confirms alcohol removal and an exact 0.34% ABV for American IPA in its October 19, 2026 email. The specific removal technique remains undeclared. The producer lists water, barley, hops and yeast, and names Centennial, Citra and Amarillo hops. Its public page declares under 0.5% alcohol, 58 calories, 12 carbs and 40 IBU. The retailer calls this formerly Midwest IPA; no evidence connects it to the separate Bulltown Brewing Midwest IPA record.

Verified facts

Evidence: Producer documented · 7 sources

Sources See something wrong? Submit a correction.

  • Not disclosed Method Undeclared

Where to buy

Good Liar

Buy from producer

Package

12 fl oz

Typical price

$3.99 / 12 fl oz

Availability observations
PackageObserved listingPriceUnit price
12 fl ozObserved at NA Beer Market$3.99

Checked 3 Oct 2026

$3.99
Availability

Producer website; use the producer store locator for retail locations.

Prices and availability are independently observed and may change. Retailer listings do not imply endorsement. A different package is labeled as a different format. Reader-service exceptions and commercial links are identified above; neither affects scores, rankings, classification, verification, or editorial coverage.

Product facts

Producer
Good Liar
Bottle / can
12 fl oz (355 ml) can

Sources disagree on ABV.

Sources & verification

Facts checked Oct 2026 4 primary sources Method: not disclosed Conflicts: 1 noted Show details Hide details

Source links leave this site and open in a new tab.

Where sources disagree

Sources disagree on the following points.

  • ABV: The direct producer statement is the most precise current evidence and controls the canonical exact value. Older artwork and the public page remain recorded for transparency.

Evidence at a glance

  • Producer documented11 facts
  • Bottle verified1 fact
  • Retailer sourced1 fact

Sources

  • 6 notes
    ABV
    Good Liar’s October 19, 2026 email, supplied by Karl Hill on October 20, declares an exact 0.34% Alc/Vol for American IPA. The linked producer page identifies the matching product and does not publish the email text. The broader under-0.5% label claim remains in discrepancies.
    Calories
    Producer FAQ explicitly states 58 calories per 12-ounce can.
    Production
    Good Liar’s October 19, 2026 email answers the question about alcohol removal after fermentation with “Removal.” This primary producer statement supports Dealcoholized production for American IPA. The specific removal technique remains undeclared. The linked producer page identifies the matching product and does not publish the email text.
    Method
    Opened 2026-10-24. PDP and FAQ still name no removal technique. The October 19 email confirms alcohol removal only. Method stays Undeclared.
    Barcode (EAN/GTIN)
    The producer supplies the UPC in its October 19 email. The code is stored in identifiers as a UPC. Packaging unit remains unconfirmed because the email labels it “Csn UPC”; no can or case package GTIN is assigned. The linked product page identifies the SKU and is not a public copy of the email.
    Production note
    Production confirmation and exact ABV come from the October 19 producer email supplied by Karl Hill on October 20. Existing ingredient and product-stat declarations retain their separately cited sources. The linked product page identifies the SKU and is not a public copy of the email.
  • Bottle / can label images.squarespace-cdn.com

    • Volume
    Bottle verified
  • Retail listing market.nabeerclub.com

    • Price
    Retailer sourced
    Note
    Price
    Live single-can price matches the editor-reported purchase price. One can purchased; purchase date not supplied.

See something wrong? Submit a correction.

Product record history Sourced changes and open disagreements. Prior claims stay on the record when sources conflict.
  1. ReviewedReviewed and published.
  2. UpdatedCatalog record updated from sourced research.
  3. OpenDiscrepancy · ABVThe direct producer statement is the most precise current evidence and controls the canonical exact value. Older artwork and the public page remain recorded for transparency.
  4. Classification changed · ClassificationCorrected from no to yes. Good Liar’s October 19 producer reply confirms alcohol removal for American IPA. The classification is now marked producer documented; the specific technique remains undeclared.
  5. Fact corrected · IdentifiersCorrected from Manufacturer reference described as a case UPC to Producer-supplied UPC; packaging unit unconfirmed. The supplied email explicitly identifies a UPC but its “Csn UPC” wording does not establish case packaging.
  6. Classification changed · ClassificationCorrected from Unclassified to dealcoholized. Karl direct observation 2026-10-08: goodliar.com PDP reads 'Award-Winning Non-Alcoholic American IPA'; site title 'Non-Alcoholic Beer — Good Liar'. Bottle classification: dealcoholized. Named removal technology unpublished.
  7. Classification changed · ClassificationCorrected from dealcoholized to Unclassified. Producer product, FAQ and About pages rechecked; none says alcohol is removed or establishes a fermentation technique. Nonalcoholic labeling does not establish Dealcoholized production.

Instead

Try instead

  • Brevet IPA

    Want a higher score?

    Halfway Crooks Beer Brevet IPA scored 90. This bottle scored 83.

    Compare
  • N/Alien Church

    Want a higher score?

    Tired Hands Brewing Company N/Alien Church scored 88. This bottle scored 83.

    Compare
  • Hazy IPNA

    Want a higher score?

    Lagunitas Hazy IPNA scored 87. This bottle scored 83.

    Compare

Production

Compare another production approach