Free Wave
Still being researched Not enough verified facts yet. Not tasted or scored.
<0.5% ABV Verified from producer documentation · Sep 2026
Under $20
- Technique undeclared
- Milford, Connecticut, and San Diego, California, United States
The beer
Record
Free Wave is Athletic’s hazy IPA, sold direct as a 6-pack of 12 oz cans at $10.99. The can reads less than 0.5% alcohol by volume. The help center describes a proprietary process and natural fermentation, and it does not say whether alcohol is removed. The product page agrees on 70 calories and 16 grams of carbohydrate in 12 ounces. It does not agree with itself on oats, or on whether the hops are Amarillo, Citra, and Mosaic or Amarillo, Mosaic, and Chinook. A score waits on a pour.
How it was made
Classification Unclassified
Evidence status Unverified
Athletic’s help center says its non-alcoholic beer is naturally fermented, always below 0.5%, and made by a proprietary process it does not name. The Free Wave page’s nutrition block gives 70 calories, 16 g carbohydrate, 1 g protein, and 0 g fat per 12 oz. A FAQ on the same page gives protein as under 1 g. The about section lists water, malted barley, wheat, hops, and yeast, and names Amarillo, Citra, and Mosaic. The FAQ ingredient line adds oats. Brewer notes on the same page name Amarillo, Mosaic, and Chinook. Those conflicts are unresolved. Producer aroma language is not a tasting. The can reads non-alcoholic brew, less than 0.5% alc/vol, 12 oz. Sold as a 6-pack. The still is one can.
Sources disagree on the following points.
- Ingredients: Oats appear in one list and not the other. No single ingredient line is printed.
- Hops: Citra and Chinook are each named once. Neither list is treated as the only hop bill.
- Protein: Calories at 70 kcal and carbohydrate at 16 g agree. Protein does not.
Product record history
Sourced changes and open disagreements. Prior claims stay on the record when sources conflict.
Product record history
- Still being researched. Not enough verified facts yet. Not tasted or scored.
- ABV — Sourced check for ABV.
- Calories — Sourced check for Calories.
- Price — Sourced check for Price.
- Volume — Sourced check for Volume.
- Producer — Sourced check for Producer.
- Country — Sourced check for Country.
- Region — Sourced check for Region.
- Open Ingredients — Oats appear in one list and not the other. No single ingredient line is printed.
- Open Hops — Citra and Chinook are each named once. Neither list is treated as the only hop bill.
- Open Protein — Calories at 70 kcal and carbohydrate at 16 g agree. Protein does not.
Verified facts
Evidence: Unverified · 2 sources
- Sourced ABV <0.5% Verified from producer documentation · Sep 2026
- Undeclared Classification Unclassified Not disclosed
- Undeclared Method Technique undeclared Not disclosed
- Sourced Origin Milford, Connecticut, and San Diego, California, United States Verified from producer documentation · Sep 2026
Sources
Product facts are only as strong as their sources. Editorial tasting notes are opinion.
-
The help center says the non-alcoholic beer is always below 0.5%. The Free Wave can reads contains less than 0.5% alc/vol.
Verified facts -
Verified facts
-
Verified facts
Also cataloged
Similar bottles
Price
Under $25 alternatives
- Halfway Crooks Brevet IPA 90/100 · $3.75 (single can)
- Tired Hands N/Alien Church 88/100 · $16.00 per 6-pack (brewery direct)
- Hazy IPNA 87/100 · $11.79 (6-pack)
- All In 86/100 · $15.00 (6-pack (12 oz cans))
The Dry List is three bottles, one verified claim, and one worth buying. Get the list.