Research record

Product facts researched. Not tasted or scored.

The beer

Pumpkinhead NA is Shipyard Brewing’s non-alcoholic version of its Pumpkinhead Ale, the Portland, Maine brewery’s best-known fall seasonal. Shipyard lists Willamette and Saphir hops, pale ale, whole wheat and Munich light malts, and a proprietary pumpkin spice blend.

The producer says it uses traditional brewing methods, not alcohol removal, so the beer is classed as naturally low alcohol rather than dealcoholized. It does not say how alcohol is kept below 0.5%. A firsthand tasting is needed before this profile can carry an editorial review or score.

The bottle

Production type describes how it is made, not how it tastes. What this classification means.

Method Undeclared

Research notes

Shipyard says Pumpkinhead NA is made with traditional brewing methods, not alcohol removal, so it is not classed as dealcoholized. The producer does not say how alcohol is kept below 0.5%: no yeast strain, arrested fermentation or other technique is published, so the method facet stays undeclared. Launch coverage describes it as the non-alcoholic version of Pumpkinhead Ale after more than two years of development, with a pumpkin spice, cinnamon and nutmeg profile; the can reads Pumpkin Brew and calls it near beer containing less than 0.5% alcohol by volume.

Verified facts

Evidence: Producer documented · 9 sources

Sources See something wrong? Submit a correction.

  • Not disclosed Method Undeclared

Where to buy

Shipyard Brewing Company

Buy from producer

Package

12 fl oz can

Typical price

$14.99 / 6 × 12 fl oz cans

≈ $2.50 per can

Availability observations
PackageObserved listingPriceUnit price
6 × 12 fl oz cansObserved at Shipyard Brewing Company$14.99

Checked 24 Oct 2026

Multipack of the reviewed 12 fl oz can.

Out of stock

$2.50 / can
Availability

Seasonal fall release. In US stores from 3 August 2026 in 6-pack cans, in 18 or 19 states depending on the source, including Maine, New Hampshire and Massachusetts. The producer webshop listed it as sold out on 2026-10-24.

Prices and availability are independently observed and may change. Retailer listings do not imply endorsement. A different package is labeled as a different format. Reader-service exceptions and commercial links are identified above; neither affects scores, rankings, classification, verification, or editorial coverage.

Product facts

Producer
Shipyard Brewing Company
Bottle / can
12 fl oz (355 ml) cans, sold as a 6-pack

Sources disagree on ABV and Availability.

Sources & verification

Facts checked Oct 2026 5 primary sources Method: not disclosed Conflicts: 2 noted Show details Hide details

Source links leave this site and open in a new tab.

Where sources disagree

Sources disagree on the following points.

  • ABV: The producer product page prints the ABV as "<.05%", which would be a ceiling ten times lower than the can and the producer press release, both of which say less than 0.5%. The page figure looks like a typo, so the canonical value follows the can.
  • Availability: WGME reports the launch in 19 states and Promising Beer reports 18. The count is not recorded as a number.

Evidence at a glance

  • Producer documented6 facts
  • Bottle verified3 facts
  • Press sourced1 fact

Sources

  • Producer shipyard.com

    • Production
    • Production method
    • Ingredients
    • Producer
    Producer documented
    3 notes
    Production
    Producer states traditional brewing methods, not alcohol removal. It names no technique for keeping alcohol below 0.5%.
    Production method
    Producer wording only; no yeast strain or fermentation control is described.
    Ingredients
    Hops and malts from the producer product page. No label ingredient declaration seen; water, yeast and any other ingredients are unrecorded.
  • Bottle / can label Bottle label

    • ABV (sources disagree)
    • Volume
    • Barcode (EAN/GTIN)
    Bottle verified
    3 notes
    ABV
    Can states contains less than 0.5% alc. vol on the front and two other panels; 0.5 is the ceiling, not an exact residual.
    Volume
    Can prints 12 FL. OZ.; the 6-pack count comes from the producer page and shop.
    Barcode (EAN/GTIN)
    Leading digit partly obscured; resolved by the check digit and the Shipyard 780369 prefix. A second photograph of the digits would remove the doubt.
  • Producer shop.shipyard.com

    • Price
    Producer documented
    Note
    Price
    Producer shop regular price; the listing was sold out when observed.
  • Producer bevnet.com

    • Availability (sources disagree)
    Producer documented
    Note
    Availability
    Dated launch statement from July 2026; current retail stock has not been checked. State counts differ between sources.
  • Press bevnet.com

    • Region
    Press sourced

Additional sources

See something wrong? Submit a correction.

Product record history Sourced changes and open disagreements. Prior claims stay on the record when sources conflict.
  1. ResearchedResearch record. Product facts researched. Not tasted or scored.
  2. OpenDiscrepancy · ABVThe producer product page prints the ABV as "<.05%", which would be a ceiling ten times lower than the can and the producer press release, both of which say less than 0.5%. The page figure looks like a typo, so the canonical value follows the can.
  3. OpenDiscrepancy · AvailabilityWGME reports the launch in 19 states and Promising Beer reports 18. The count is not recorded as a number.

Compare holds up to four. Want to try keeps a bottle in My Bottles.

Also cataloged

Similar bottles

Beer

Athletic Brewing Free Wave is also naturally low alcohol.

85/100

Beer · IPA · <0.5% ABV · Under $20

  • 19.7 kcal / 100 ml
  • 1.7 g sugar / 100 ml
  • Mandarin
  • Grapefruit
  • Hops

Bulltown Brewing Midwest IPA is also naturally low alcohol.

83/100

Beer · IPA · <0.5% ABV · Under $20

  • 19.7 kcal / 100 ml
  • 0 g sugar / 100 ml
  • Grapefruit
  • Hops
  • Malt

Go Brewing Batch 001 Micro Brew is also naturally low alcohol.

81/100

Beer · <0.5% ABV · Under $20

  • 17.8 kcal / 100 ml
  • Corn